An Ode to Brunch

All right, friends in Arizona. It’s time you learned about what NYC really has to offer. Sure, there are Broadway shows, and great nightlife, and the Statue of Liberty, but that’s not what I want to talk about. Let’s talk about brunch.

And yes, I know you can do brunch in any city, but it’s a whole different breed out here. First of all, it’s a cultural phenomenon. I spent three months living here last summer, and I don’t think I took more than a week off from brunch. Everyone does brunch. People LOVE brunch. I love brunch.

Second of all, it makes day drinking not only okay, but encouraged. You can walk into a place with all you can drink specials, and it’s not crazy drunkards–it’s sophisticated professionals.

Day drinking is for winners!

I mean, what else can I say? Brunch literally takes the best part of every other meal and puts it in one. Love breakfast, but don’t want to wake up that early? No problem! Like cocktails with your muffins, but don’t want to self-identify as an alcoholic? There’s an app for that! Let’s put it this way: in about eight days, I will live in New York permanently. Mark my words, that will be the start of what will undoubtedly be my longest and most passionate relationship to date. That begins the start of my love affair with brunch.

This guy knows what I’m talking about.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Ode to Brunch

  1. Kristie says:

    totally with you on this. when I visit, I demand we schedule our days around brunch. I don’t give a fuck if you all are busy with “jobs” and “school.” brunch is so money, and we will treat it as such.

    • Carly says:

      Oh don’t worry, Kristie–I’m scheduling my life around brunch, and that’s not going to change when you are here. Saturday, we brunch classy. Sunday, we brunch trashy. Prepare.

  2. Laura Devlin says:

    Me too. I want to go too. Get ready in November.

  3. Pingback: From the minds of Sarah and Carly to the heart of Wesley Autrey: A Business Proposal | No Shame, Only Pride

Leave a Reply

